8 local candidates apply to serve on Sustainable Tacoma Commission

Eight local residents will be interviewed this week for consideration to serve on the City’s Sustainable Tacoma Commission.

Formed in 2009 in response to the City’s first Climate Action Plan, the Sustainable Tacoma Commission provides an opportunity to connect and collaborate with others working in environmental stewardship, communicate sustainability goals to Tacoma City Council, work with the Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability to oversee the City’s programs promoting sustainability, and dedicate time and energy to making Tacoma a more environmentally, economically, and socially sustainable community.

Duties of the Sustainable Tacoma Commission include coordinating with the Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability to oversee the City’s sustainability programs and greenhouse gas reduction goals; providing annual progress reports to the public; communicating barriers to and incentives for implementation to Tacoma City Council; and creating a forum for regular public comment and community involvement.

The Sustainable Tacoma Commission consists of 11 members — nine voting members appointed by Tacoma City Council, and two non-voting members appointed by Tacoma’s City Manager. Membership is a balanced representation of stakeholders, such as the environmental community, small business, labor, housing, industry, and port, transportation, education, building industry, and residents.

Tacoma City Council is looking to fill five seats on the commission – three new three-year terms, an unexpired two-year term, and an unexpired one-year term.

The applicants scheduled to be interviewed this week by Tacoma City Council’s Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee include Stephanie E. Brock (Council District 1); Ken Campbell (Council District 1); Sarah Chessman (Council District 5); Christine Cooley (Council District 2 — seeking reappointment); Felicity Devlin (Council District 1); Todd Hay (Council District 1); Eileen Moore (Council District 2 — seeking reappointment); and Caitlin White (Council District 4).


Current Sustainable Tacoma Commission members include Philip Coughlan (Council District 2); Nick Cutting (Council District 1); Christine Cooley (Council District 2); Karen Hamilton (Council District 1); Alyssa Illich (Council District 4); Eileen Moore (Council District 2); Holly Williams (Council District 4); and Agnes Pate (Council District 4).

The interviews will be held during a public meeting on Weds., May 28, at 3:30 p.m., at Tacoma Municipal Building North, 733 Market St., Conference Room 16, in downtown Tacoma. Copies of the agenda and meeting materials are available online here. Following the interviews this week, Tacoma City Council’s Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee is expected to forward its appointment recommendations to Tacoma City Council, which is tentatively scheduled to vote on the appointments on Tues., June 17.

To read the Tacoma Daily Index‘s complete and comprehensive coverage of the Sustainable Tacoma Commission, click on the following links: