2 locals join Tacoma Planning Commission

Tacoma City Council approved a resolution Tuesday appointing two people to the City of Tacoma Planning Commission.

The nine-member commission develops and updates Tacoma’s Comprehensive Plan and its elements; formulates effective and efficient land use and development regulations and processes that implement the Comprehensive Plan; and reviews various planning issues, such as area-wide zoning reclassifications, moratoria, interim zoning, pre-annexation planning, historic district designation, urban design, and transportation and capital facilities programs, according to the City’s Web site.

Planning Commission members are appointed by Tacoma City Council; serve three-year terms; and must be residents of Tacoma. The commission typically meets at Tacoma City Hall at 4 p.m. on the first and third Wednesday of each month.

In October, the City issued a call for applicants two fill the Environmental Community position and Public Transportation position on the Planning Commission (see “City seeks applicants for Tacoma Planning Commission,” Tacoma Daily Index, Oct. 2, 2014). The deadline for applications expired on Fri., Oct. 24. Tacoma City Council’s Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee interviewed six candidates — Anna Petersen; Max Henkle; Stephen Hill; Meredith Neal; Brian Spindor; and Dorian Waller — during a public meeting on Weds., Nov. 12. The committee then forwarded its recommendations for appointments to the full city council for final confirmation.

On Tuesday, Tacoma City Council appointed Anna Petersen to the Environmental Community position to serve an unexpired term to expire on June 30, 2016; and Meredith Neal to the Public Transportation position to serve a three-year term to expire on June 30, 2017.

“As a former member of the Planning Commission, it’s always a great task to interview applicants to fill either expired seats or new seats,” said Tacoma City Councilmember David Boe, who serves as Vice-Chair of Tacoma City Council’s Infrastructure, Planning, and Sustainability Committee. “A great list of candidates came forward, and it was actually quite challenging to make sure we got the right composition on the Planning Commission. But I think we have with Anna Petersen and Meredith Neal. We’re very pleased to bring them onboard.”

More information about the Tacoma Planning Commission is available online here.